top of page
Search
  • simpledeskllc

What If I’m Ordinary?



What if I’m ordinary?

I watched a short video featuring Brene Brown recently. She explained that she believes, based on her data, that we live in a culture of scarcity. It looks something like this:

*I’m not good enough *I’m not smart enough. *I’m not pretty enough. *I’m not certain enough. *I’m not extraordinary enough.


Extraordinary?

“Extraordinary means relevant. In our culture, an ordinary life has become synonymous with a meaningless life”

Ugh.

As I look back on my life, I can identify several moments where I desperately wanted to be:

*Line Leader *Spelling Bee Champ *Fastest sprinter *Valedictorian *Magna Cum Laude *Top Salesman *Top Sales Director


This list could go on forever. Did I strive for all of these? Yes! Did I reach the tip top? Nope.


Hence, I failed. Hence, I’m ordinary.


Meaningless.


We’ve been raised and groomed in a society of “Be the Best!”. We should be set apart. Rise above the masses!

This kind of thinking can lead to a false sense of superiority. Quite honestly, there’s nothing wrong with reaching for the stars, climbing your way to the top or seeing your name in lights.

Many of us do!


But what happens when you finish 2nd, graduate with a solid 3.0 or make your sales quota every month? Does that mean your life is meaningless? Not at all.


Every day I wake up, feed my pets, take care of myself and my family, pay my bills and go to work. I’m enough and I do my best.


I may have failed at many things in my life but I’m not a failure. Neither are you.


Today I wish you an ordinary life of gratitude, the smell of fresh cut grass, joy, warm clothes right out of the dryer, peace, a walk with your dog and a comfy bed to sleep in every night.


Hi, I’m Ami. I’m perfectly ordinary. It’s nice to meet you.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Year. New Rules.

Your sense of personal power is very much influenced by what areas of your life you give yourself permission. Let me explain. In October I found myself in a Zoom meeting. The same Zoom meeting I atten

bottom of page